jump to navigation

Random updates June 14, 2010

Posted by Akhil Mathew in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s been another two months already since anyone last posted here, hasn’t it?

So, first of all, Damien Jiang, Anirudha Balasubramanian, and I have each uploaded the papers resulting from our RSI projects to arXiv.  I’ve been discussing the story of my project on representation theory and the mathematics around it on my personal blog (see in particular here and here).  There are others from the program who have placed their papers on arXiv as well (but are not involved in this blog).

I’d like to congratulate my friend and fellow Rickoid Yale Fan for winning the Young Scientist award at the International Science and Engineering Fair for his project on quantum computation (which deservedly earned him the title “rock star”).  I also congratulate his classmate and fellow rock star Kevin Ellis (who did not do RSI, but whom I know from STS) for winning the (again fully deserved) award for his work on parallel computation.  There is a press release here.

RSI 2010 is starting in just a few more days.  I’m not going to have any involvement in the program myself (other than potentially proofreading drafts of kids’ papers from several hundred miles away), nor do I know much about what kinds of projects (mathematical or otherwise) will be happening there.  I think I’d be interested in being a mentor someday—maybe in six years time.  I’m going to be doing a project probably on something geometric this summer, but it remains to be seen on what.

I don’t really know what’s going to become of this blog as we all now finish high school and enter college.  It looks like most of us will be in Cambridge, MA next year; this is hardly surprising given the RSI program’s location there.  Also, just to annoy Yale, I’m going to further spread the word that he is going to Harvard.

If anyone from RSI 2010 wants to join/revive this blog, feel free to send an email to deltaepsilons [at] gmail [dot] com.

Comments»

1. Random updates | Ragnarok Connection - July 15, 2014

[…]   Related Article: Delta Epsilons […]

2. kalidhas - November 12, 2014

not bad


Leave a comment